Technical Support Forum Index
Technical Support Forum
Access ChemAxon scientists and developers here. For registration and login issues contact website support.

Support Ticket System is replacing forum

This forum was converted into a searchable archive. You cannot add posts here any more. For support please use our new Ticket System.

Create your first ticket
minimum size for graphical object
To watch this topic for replies  Register (enables digests) or give email address:
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Display posts from previous:   
    View previous topic :: View next topic    
Author Message
Bob

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 2629

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:48 pmPost subject: minimum size for graphical object Reply with quote

Occasionally, my students, when drawing a mechanism with graphical boxes and reaction/resonance arrows, will insert in their drawing a box or arrow that is invisible.  I think they do it by clicking accidentally on the drawing pane instead of click-hold-dragging.  ACE sees the box or arrow and, being unable to interpret it as belonging to the mechanism, will often display an error message to the student.  But the student can't see the box or arrow to which ACE is objecting.  The only way to remove the offending object is to erase all visible objects, go to the source, find the XML for the remaining object, delete it, import, and redraw the desired objects.

This problem could be solved if Marvin set a minimum size for its graphical objects.  It wouldn't really matter what size it was, as long as it was visible to the naked eye.  

Akos
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 864

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 7:05 amPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bob,

 

Thanks for this report; we will implement this feature in the graphical object drawing soon.

 

Best regards,

 

Akos

Bob

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 2629

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:51 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

The attached file illustrates the problem.  Note that textboxes 9 and 14 both have MPoints with x and y coordinates of NaN.  I have no idea how the students generate such textboxes, but you should make it impossible for them to do.  The boxes are invisible and can only be found if you know enough to look at the XML.




 Filename: invisibleBoxes.txt    Filesize: 15.64 KB    Downloaded: 234 Time(s)
 Description:  
Peter
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 310

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:41 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bob,

Thanks for the file. We were not able to create invisible TextBoxes with NaN coordinates, but we've found some other issues when we tried to resize TextBoxes that might be related. We continue researching this bug, but if your students coud give hints what to do to create such TextBoxes it would be appreciated.

Best regards,

Peter

Bob

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 2629

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:49 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Here's what the student who drew the textbox said:

Well, I do remember that  when I would try to draw a textbox, it would occasionally disappear, leaving only a small vertical line in the lower portion of where the textbox was originally, but it would ultimately disappear and I would have to draw a new textbox for that step.  I have yet to recreate the problem though.  
Peter
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 310

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:32 amPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bob,

Thanks for the information. We are investigating the issue and we will respond soon.

Best regards,

Peter

Bob

Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 2629

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:21 amPost subject: Reply with quote

Here's another communication from the student.

I've managed to recreate the problem in the source, just not the feedback from ACE.  Problem 2 of the last assignment due Monday, when I entered a 3 in the textbox, it gave the small vertical line.  When I used the select feature to make the box bigger so the 3 would show, the box disappeared and I noticed the NaN values in the source.  
Tamas
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 2171

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:12 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for further info.

Peter
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 310

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:45 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Bob,

We made some changes in textbox drawing to avoid the creation of small textboxes accidentally. The fix will be available in the next release (5.3.2).

Thanks for the help.

Best regards,

Peter

This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Page 1 of 1


To watch this topic for replies   Register (enables digests) or give email address  
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum