Structure to SMILES fails with enhanced stereochemistry

User 8717ac71bd

09-04-2014 17:22:53

Hi all,

I am finally reporting an issue that has existed for as long as I have been using JChem for Excel (3+ yrs).

Converting a structure containing enhanced stereochemistry to smiles using the "To Smiles" button on the ribbon fails in JChem for Excel. 

For example, try loading the following cxsmiles:

C[C@H]1CCCCN1 |a:1|

Use "From Smiles" and you will successfully see:

Now use "To Smiles" and it will fail. 

In versions before 6.2.0, you wouldnt see any error at all but now in 6.2.2 I get the following error message:

If I edit the structure and turn off Enhanced Stereochemistry, the "To Smiles" function will work correctly but you will not get the |a:1| cxsmiles extension. 

Thanks for looking into this.  We have a large number of compounds in our database with enhanced stereochemistry and having to fix them manually in jchem for excel to get SMILES is tedious.

Thanks,

David

ChemAxon bd13b5bd77

09-04-2014 18:34:43

Hi David,

could you please try out to switch off the 2D cleaning option when converting the SMILES?

http://www.chemaxon.com/jchem4excel/userguide/general_settings.html

please check the 4. point Misc:

Viktor

User 8717ac71bd

09-04-2014 18:46:56

Hi Viktor,

My installation was set to "False" but I tried changing to to both "True" and "False" for the 2D clean on string conversion setting and still get the same error message for both.  The error is only going from structure -> string and I think it has to do with parsing the | | delimiters for the smiles string. 

If you notice in the error window attached in my original message you will see that the cxsmiles string was actually generated correctly by ToSmiles, it is something after that that thinks it has failed.

Thanks,
David

ChemAxon bd13b5bd77

09-04-2014 18:52:52

Yes,

sorry for the extra round, I could not convert it either with a later version of JChem 4 Excel.