ranking compounds by similarity

User e67139a5fc

28-01-2011 05:16:56

Hi,

I need to be able to rank a list of small to medium sized organic compounds in order of their individual similarities to a reference compound - based on some similarity measure such as the Tanimoto coefficient.

I am new to J Chem and it would be great if someone could give me a run down on the steps needed to be able to do this.

I have downloaded J Chem base (as of yesterday) onto my computer (running windows xp) but that is pretty much as far as I could get.

Any help I could get would be greatly appreciated.

many thanks

Philip

ChemAxon efa1591b5a

01-02-2011 20:53:37

Hi Philip, 

Have you tried InstantJChem yet? That's probably the easiest and most convenient tool for this kind of work. You can try it online here: http://www.chemaxon.com/products/online-tryouts/instant-jchem-via-webstart/

Does this help?

Regards,

Miklos

ChemAxon fa971619eb

01-02-2011 21:26:40

Yes, with Instant JChem you could easily create a database of your compounds and then search them with you reference compound(s) using similarity search. Other things are possible too, but I think that should meet you basic need. What you would need to do is:

1. run IJC and create a project with a local database
2. import your structures into that database
3. run a similarity search for you reference compound

For more details see these animations:

http://www.chemaxon.com/products/instant-jchem/instant-jchem-animations/

Tim

User e67139a5fc

02-02-2011 00:44:40

many thanks for that - IJC does exactly what we want...

User e67139a5fc

02-02-2011 01:07:57

have just been playing around with the similarity query...

After running a "structure - similarity" query I am assuming that the number above the compound structure in the Structure column of the resultant list is the associated Tanimoto coefficient (when using this as the similarity measure)?