comparison of structural scaffolds from different libraries

User 9627e6d784

05-12-2008 15:52:47

dear chemaxon users,

i am new to chemaxon and its provided software packages an currently face the following problem:

i have different libaries and want to compare them. however, i am ONLY interested in comparison of

structural scaffolds of the different libaries.

so for example:

given:

- imagine i have libraries A and B

- library A provides me with x different structural scaffolds

- library B provides me with y different structural scaffolds

wanted:

- how can i compare the x scaffolds from lib. A with the y scaffolds of lib. B ?

- how can i extract ONLY the scaffold structures, NOT the whole structures?

- how am i able - if i am at all - to extract these comparison results ?

any suggestion or help is much appreaciated.

thanks a lot in advance

greetings,

JL

ChemAxon efa1591b5a

09-12-2008 10:20:12

Hi JL,

you may try LibraryMCS to extract the scaffolds form your library, http://www.chemaxon.com/shared/libMCS/.

You can use the compr command line batch program to do the comparison (http://www.chemaxon.com/jchem/doc/user/Compr.html), however, you have not specified how you envisioned the actual comparison. Compr is based on similarity calculations using 2D fingerprinting, and performs pairwise comparison, is that suitable for your needs? Or you'd prefer comparing scaffolds directly as graph structures?

HTH, regards,

Miklos

User 9627e6d784

10-12-2008 07:53:32

Hi Miklos and thanks a bunch for your reply.

i have some some furher questions:

1.) it is not clear for me how i can extract the scaffolds after using 'compr' or

'libmcs'.

1.A.) is there a special flag to set ?

2.) can i have only the scaffolds extracted to a file that i can look at with a viewer afterwards ?

3.) However, how can I compare the scaffolds directly as graphs ?

3.A.)How can I extract these scaffold graphs (see 2.)) ?

Greetings and many many thanks,

JL

User 9627e6d784