Retrieving SMILES string from Marvin to ASP.NET server

User 0908c5ccdd

12-11-2007 12:14:42

Hi

I am a complete novice to JavaScript so apologies if this seems like a simple question. I would appreciate some help getting my Marvin Sketch application to work. I have a page that works fine, using the Marvin Viewer. You can see by the code below that it is simple, but it seems to work. The SMILES string is provided by a variable sSMILES in ASP.NET.

Code:
<div>                         

<script language= "Javascript1.1" src="Marvin/marvin.js"></script>

<script language="Javascript1.1">

<!--

mview_begin("Marvin/", 100, 100);

mview_param("mol", "<%= convertForJavaScript(sSMILES) %>")

mview_param("background", "#FFF5F5");

mview_end();

!-->

</script>                 

</div>

I cannot seem to get the process to work in reverse, ie. capturing the structure from the Sketch window in the form of a SMILES string and storing it as an ASP.NET variable. The page on which the Sketch window is displayed has a postback button to capture data from other controls. I would really like to capture the SMILES code from the structure drawn in the Sketch window too.

So far I have the code below. It does not give any errors and it displays the Sketch window and allows me to draw, but when I query the variable sSmilesIn back in the ASP.NET server it does not contain the SMILES string that I am after.

Code:
<div>                       

<!--

function exportMol(format) {

if(document.MSketch != null) {

var sSmilesIn = document.MSketch.getMol(format);

sSmilesIn = unix2local(sSmilesIn); // Convert "\n" to local line separator

document.MolForm.MolTxt.value = sSmilesIn;

} else {

alert("Cannot import molecule:\n"+

"no JavaScript to Java communication in your browser.\n");

}

}

msketch_begin("Marvin/", 680, 300);

msketch_param("background", "#FFF5F5");

msketch_param("preload", "MolExport,Parity,SmilesExport,Clean2D,MyformatExport");

msketch_end();

!-->