Stereo Group in Reactor

User dffd8eb48a

06-07-2006 18:21:11

Hi,

I am using the following code to react acid and amine.Reaction string is

([C;$(C=O):1][OH][H]).([N;!H0;!$(N[C,S]=O);!$(N[a]);!$(NC=N):3][H])>>([C:1][N:3])

args[1] is mol7.mol (a chiral acid), and args[2] is mol8.mol (a racemic amine) (both attached). The program spits out an amide, which I export to V3 mol file: mol9.mol. I am using evaluation JChem3.1.7 that I just downloaded a few days ago, JDK 1.5/WinXP and ISIS 2.5.

I am expecting my amide to have one AND stereo group (from the amine) and one ABS stereo center (from the acid), but I am seeing three ABS stereo centers in the product. If I re-export the racemic reagent as V3 mol file, I see one AND stereo group as expected.

I am very new to JChem (less than a week), so please go slow. Am I missing something?

Thanks,

dak

ChemAxon d76e6e95eb

06-07-2006 21:12:59

We are examining the problem and will answer you soon in details.

ChemAxon fb166edcbd

10-07-2006 21:54:08

The conversion of the MDL chiral flag to enhanced stereo is not automatical. You explicitly request this if you convert the molecule with the "V3ec" export parameter. Therefore as long as your input is in "V2" and you use the chiral flag to denote absolute stereo, only this chiral flag will be set in your output if any of your chiral reagents has the chiral flag set. To set enhanced stereo in you output you must have enhanced stereo set in your input as well, e.g. by pre-converting your reagents with "V3ec".

The reason is that we do not want to set enhanced stereo in every chiral reagent - if we applied the "V3ec" conversion automatically then we should have convert every chiral molecule without a chiral flag to an "and1" group - even if the molecule does not come from an MDL mol file.

User dffd8eb48a

11-07-2006 04:59:41

Nora wrote: