Shared Projects on Networked drive

User 7a95efc811

14-01-2010 18:55:36

I am using instant JChem 3.0.4 on a mac using OS X 10.6.2.  I am trying to set up a shared project on a network drive that we have to ssh into.  I saw people trying to set up a shared project in another post but I need explicit instructions.  I have limited programing experience.  Perhaps someone has a recommendation.  Here is what we need:

A colleague and I are trying to analyze data from several chemical screens.  We would like to break the work up and store the information in one place so that we can both access it.  We have an academic license.  We do not have access to a web server.

Any reccomendations?

Thank you!

ChemAxon fa971619eb

15-01-2010 08:37:14

Sharing data with a local database is not possible.

Firstly, the database used prevents simulatneous access, and secondly the terms of the personal license preclue sharing of data amongst multiple users (but as you have an academic license you would be able to obtian an enterprise license that does allow sharing).

The easiest way to share data is to use a MySQL or Oracle database on your network. With that multiple users  can connect to the database at the same time. You do not need to use a shared project to do this. Shared projects can be useful where you have a large number of users, but for only 2 there is little real benefit.

One thing you can do with a local database is send your colleague a copy of the database, but you will not see any changes they make and vice-versa. To do this you can just zip up the project directory and send it to your colleage. They will unzip it and then open it in IJC.

Here are some links about setting up databases and projects that might be useful:

http://www.chemaxon.com/instantjchem/ijc_latest/docs/user/help/htmlfiles/connections/about_schemas.html

http://www.chemaxon.com/instantjchem/ijc_latest/docs/user/help/htmlfiles/projects/shared_projects.html