Database sharing / transfer

User d2950aa5e4

12-10-2006 06:54:06

I started to learn the Instant JChem concept, although it seems to be wonderful tool, the concept is not entirely clear (at least for me). One perhaps silly question from a newbie here: I created a Database within a Project and now I would like to send it to someone else with the intention that he sees the same I do. I understand that there are various files in the "data" directory. What collection of files is required to pack/send to achieve the same performance elsewhere (the recipient has installed the same IJC version, indeed) ?

ChemAxon fa971619eb

12-10-2006 07:12:21

What you need to do is send the complete project directory (probably called ijc-project) to your colleague. It's probably best to compress this into a zip file to reduce it in size and convert all the contents to a single file.

Then your colleague should be able to unzip the file, open the project in Instant JChem (File-> Open project...) and should see an identical copy of what you had.

Let me know if you have any problems.

Also note that we are currently working on providing a way to directly share a single copy of data, with the aim that you will be able to share data in a networked database (Oracle or MySQL). This feature will require an Instant JChem license.

Tim

ChemAxon fa971619eb

12-10-2006 11:06:37

One other thought on this.

If your data was just in a single table you could export it to a file (SDF or MRV formats woudl be best) and send that to your colleague to import.

This would not be as complete as copying the complete project, but it might serve some purposes, and the file size would be much smaller.

Tim

User 0fcbd457e6

31-03-2008 12:40:03

Hi,