Pointing to a certain atom symbol in abbreviated groups

User 601c4a8aaf

08-02-2012 01:00:49

Hi,

I'm looking for an option to point to a certain symbol (of a bonding atom) of an abbreviated group. For instance, I created a abbreviated group COO- for the carboxylate ion. When I contract the group, the bond points to the middle of the abbreviation (COO-), but it should point to the "C". How can I manage this?

There is already a carboxyl group under "Insert -> Groups" and the abbreviation COOH is arranged correctly.

I'm not very experienced in using MarvinSketch, but I hope there is a quite easy possibility to solve my problem. I've read something about this problem in the documentation (http://www.chemaxon.com/marvin/help/formats/abbrevgroup-doc.html), but I have no clue where the file "default.abbrevgroup" is located or where it has to be placed. I'm using MarvinSketch Version 5.8.0 on Mac OS 10.7.3.

Thanks in advance,

Diego.

ChemAxon 5433b8e56b

14-02-2012 15:32:20

Hi Diego,

unofrtunatelly in the current versions you can not easily set the label center property on a SuperAtomSgroup. The only way to create such a group you want is to edit the default.abbrevgroup file in your marvin installation.

If you want to do so, you should locate the MarvinBeans-templates.jar file on your system it should be in the marvin_installation_dir/lib directory, the default.abbrevgroup file is inside the jar, you can edit the jar freely, since on a desktop installation there is no need to sign the jars it is allowed to modify its contents.

You should place this line into the file:

COO-    [O-]C=O    2    center=2

please be aware of the rule that the delimiter character is tab in the abbrevgroup file format, i used some spaces in this example line.

After you have edited the file, you can reach the COO- group by typeing.

In 5.10 we are planning to define an easier way to create such groups either in a separate file and maybe also from the UI.

I hope this helps.

Regards,