Marvin Applet and browser communication

User 512caa4d13

24-09-2008 13:55:18

Hello All,

I am new to Java and working on Marvin Applet. While surfing on net I gone through the following web site

http://chem.sis.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/

here the author used Marvin Applet which is giving the user a facility to draw the structure on the editor. But the interesting thing is that whatever is drawn on the editor is immediately reflected to a frame [possibly JFrame] on the browser.

From this I understood that the editor we got as an response to a request from the server is still communicating the rout of the request. I wanted to develop the same application but unfortunately haven't found any reference for such Applet - Browser communication. Please help me, if anyone can.

ChemAxon 7c2d26e5cf

24-09-2008 14:15:19

You can find the same example on the ChemAxon site: MarvinSketch Example - Pure visualization mode, detaching MarvinSketch from the web page

The Marvin Applets package also contains this basic example.

You need the detach parameter to do this. This example also explains its usage.

By the way, the applet on the ChemIDplus page is an ancient version. On ChemAxon site, the applet examples use the latest one.

User 512caa4d13

25-09-2008 05:02:55

Thank you very much, Mr. Tamas for your valuable information.

I am going through the example, but still I have a query, is it possible to open a mole file, that is stored in database and link is displayed on the browser to download [or similar name as "view"], whenever user clicks the link ?

The example I have referred previously, I thought that the author is establishing a continuous Applet - Servlet [or server] communication to send the drawn structure on the editor to the image area on browser, but I guess I am wrong as Marvin has provided the provision.

In my scenario the user can click any other structure file link or dragging the file to the applet editor to open it.