setThreadCount in JAVA API for sdf to mol converter

User 2bdca8573c

04-06-2015 15:45:41

The code doesn't works when I place  setThreadCount before convert().

public void Sdfmol() throws MolExportException, IllegalArgumentException,IllegalStateException, IOException {

MolConverter.Builder mcbld = new MolConverter.Builder();
            mcbld.addInput(Name1, "");
            mcbld.setOutput(Name2, "mol");
            mcbld.setOutputFlags(MolExporter.TEXT|MolExporter.MULTIPLE);
            MolConverter mc = mcbld.build();
            setThreadCount(0);  // Code doesn't run if I place this here.
            while(mc.convert())
                    {

counter = counter+1;
                System.out.println("Converted molecule:"+counter);
                    }
            mc.close();
            System.out.println("Calculated: "+counter+"\n");

}

If I place the setThreadCount after convert() it works fine. It runs perfectly fine without setThreadCount().

I am still very new to Java. So it would be my pleasure if you could direct me.

Thank you.

ChemAxon 4fa3cf533c

05-06-2015 08:57:11

Hi There,

From the code it seems you've added a method to your class which is not provided here. You are calling your own implementation of setThreadCount, and not on the one on the MolConverter, which I assume was your initial thought. By providing that method, maybe we can find out what went wrong.

Setting the thread count on MolConverter, by calling the setThreadCount method on the object, you can tell the converter, to use multiple threads during the conversion. It can speed up the convert, when running from a computer which has multiple cores in the CPU. By setting it to zero not makes much sense, but it won't, or should not affect the execution, it only affects the execution if this number is bigger than zero.

I hope I could help. 

Regards,

Tamas Fazekas-Vigh

User 2bdca8573c

05-06-2015 16:42:16