COO- Group

User d5c392f5d3

04-03-2013 09:05:46

I'm new to this software (v 5.11.5) and I'm trying to use an abbreviated COO- group, but I'm having no luck with it. I found the COOH group in the Insert->Groups menu, but that's about as far as I've gotten.

ChemAxon 2c555f5717

04-03-2013 11:50:32

Dear smday55!

If you are the administrator of a Marvin Sketch Applet, tha you can use the customAbbrevGroup option, you can find more information about it here.
   If you use the desktop version you can do else: Draw the desired molecule, make an SGroup name it, and (in expanded form) drag it to the template toolbar. Now you can easily add it to the canvas any time.

I hope, I could help:
Balázs

User 870ab5b546

04-03-2013 16:15:24

These instructions don't work for me.  I am not able to drag the expanded structure onto either the simple or advanced templates toolbar.

Is there a default.abbrevgroup file in MarvinBeans?

P.S.  I edited default.abbrevgroup in our server installation to recognize COO- with leftName \S-\nOOC.  I also created a CO2- shortcut group, but it appeared as CO2- instead of CO2-.  I changed the name of the shortcut group to CO\s2\S-, but then Marvin did not retrieve it when I typed CO2- on the keyboard.  I suggest that Marvin ignore the escape characters when the user types a shortcut group name or when the groups are listed in the Groups... list.  

User d5c392f5d3

04-03-2013 18:10:01

Okay, I was able to create the COO- group, but now, when I attach it to part o fa molecule, the bond attaches in the middle of the group name (at the middle O) instead of at the C where it should be, as shown below. I saw there was a previous thread on this same subject and the solution was to edit the .jar file, however I have the (pc) desktop version and am unable to find the file referenced in the previous thread. Below is the reply to the previous thread on this subject:

ifajth wrote:

Hi Diego,