Several defficiencies in Marvin JS that should be remedied

User 53611d53ae

29-09-2016 20:30:52

Dear ChemAxon,

After many years of using MarvinSketch for drawing chemical structures, I am just beginning to experiment with Marvin JS.

I encountered several deficiencies that I think are serious hindrances in adopting this platform, and I would like to list them here, hoping that the programmers may consider addressing them. I think that at least a few of those should be straight forward to implement.

1. There are no flip functions! You can mirror a structure, but if you do that, all stereo information is reversed. When manipulating glucosyl groups, one of the most common actions is to flip the structure so it could be connected properly to a polysaccharide. This cannot be done currently. Please add commands for flipping structure both vertically and horizontally.

2. Pasting structures: When you copy and paste a structure in the Java applet, the structure is pasted in the white space surrounding the structure, so it is easy to manipulate it before dragging it to the proper place. In Marvin JS, the structure is pasted right on top of the existing structure, making it extremely difficult to to drag it away so it could be manipulated. In most cases, you would inadvertently click on an atom that does not belong to the pasted portion, losing the active selection, and requiring you to undo the entire operation and try again.