Using MolConvert to generate images - Need help starting!

User cae34764c0

18-11-2012 23:21:09

Hello everyone, 

I'm a Java novice although I have some reasonable experience with Python so I was hoping I could work this out on my own... Sadly not though. 

I'm trying to use the MolConverter 'command line tool' to output a few jpeg's / pngs from some /mol files I have. 

Sadly - I don't even know where to begin. I got to the stage of running the convert.sh file in the example folder and now I can get the help commands from the terminal when I type: 'convert'. 

However, I try something like convert filename.mol output.png but get:

convert: missing an image filename `output.png'.

Or various other errors... Not got anything to work yet!

Also, I'm slightly alarmed that I've gone wrong as the offical help page says you use the command as:

molconvert [options] outformat[:exportoptions] [files...]

Which is different to what I type ('convert'). 

Please... could anyone help me get on the first rung?

ChemAxon 5433b8e56b

19-11-2012 09:25:48

Hi,

yes you should use the molconvert command, convert could be something else installed on your system.

you can use simply molconvert -o output.jpg jpg molfile.mol it will export the image with the default image export options, or you can specify the export options after the format name for example this way:

molconvert -o output.jpg "jpg:H_all,anum" molfile.mol which will export the image with all implicit hydrogens visible, and with visible atom indexes. You can find the image export options documented here.

I hope this helps, if you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to ask.

Regards,
Istvan

ChemAxon b124dd5f17

19-11-2012 13:27:14

We just opened our blog and this topic may be relevant: http://www.chemaxon.com/blog/convert-chemical-file-formats-in-python-using-jchem-web-services/

Alex

User cae34764c0

14-04-2013 09:59:24

Many thanks for these replies.