Calculated field

User f69b4744d5

25-07-2016 05:39:19

I'm relatively new to IJC and have gradually worked my way though most things, but this has me stumped, so time for expert help. I would like to pull out a specific value from multiple options in the "lookup" table below. I want to generate a calculated field in another table that uses the value of 3.45, corresponding to the Compound X / Mouse result.

In an Excel environment, I would use an INDEX / MATCH array formula to differentiate  between the values associated with Compound / Species combinations.  

Compound Species Value
Compound X Rat 1.23
Compound X Human 2.34
Compound X Mouse 3.45
Compound X Rat 4.56

Do I need to explore the world of groovy scripting or SQL related functions or can this be done with calculated field functions.

Any help would be appreciated.

Mike

User f69b4744d5

02-08-2016 01:57:00

I'm going to assume that the lack of responses means that this is not easy to do or is not possible. As part of my continuing evolution in Oracle / IJC systems, I've discovered database VIEWS that can be promoted to pseudo tables within IJC. By employing the SQL statement below, I can filter my data to ignore species other than Rat, which creates a suitable "lookup table". This would mean creating views for each species, but as this is a relatively small, static list, that isn't an issue.

SELECT ID, COMPOUND, SPECIES, B_P_RATIO

FROM B_P_RATIO

WHERE SPECIES = 'Rat'

Anyone employed similar tools within an Oracle / IJC system. Would appreciate any pointers / reference documents.

Mike

ChemAxon 7226d4dc19

02-08-2016 09:15:40

Hello Mike, sorry for the late response. I think you have 2 options here how to solve it